Department of Manpower and Immigration.—This Department was constituted in January 1966 by the Government Organization Act (RSC 1966. c. 25), which was proclaimed effective on Oct. 1, 1966, under the Minister of Manpower and Immigration. It is composed of two operational divisions and four support services. The Canada Immigration Division administers the Immigration Act and Regulations and is responsible for the selection and examination abroad of immigrants and their movement to Canada, and for the exclusion or deportation of undesirables.

The Canada Manpower Division is responsible for the counselling and effective placement of workers, the recruitment and placement of workers to meet industry's requirements, the occupational training of adults, manpower mobility, creation of seasonal demand for labour to stabilize employment, community adjustment of migrants and immigrants and the rehabilitation of vocationally handicapped workers. The Department also has a service which is responsible for the development and evaluation of departmental programs, research, the operation of pilot projects in training and other areas, legislation and legal services, and emergency manpower planning at the national level. Other support services are Financial and Management, Personnel, and Information.

The Canada Immigration Division, until Oct. 1, 1966, was part of the Department of Citizenship and Immigration which was renamed the Department of Manpower and Immigration; the majority of the other components of the Department were, prior to Oct. 1, 1966, under the jurisdiction of the Department of Labour. At the time of writing (July 1967) the Immigration Appeal Board, which deals with appeals made against Orders of Deportation, reports to the Minister of Manpower and Immigration. In March 1967, a new Immigration Appeal Board Act was passed providing for a new independent Appeal Board.

Department of National Defence.—The Department of National Defence and the Canadian Forces operate under the National Defence Act (RSC 1952, c. 184). The Canadian Forces are administered by the Minister of National Defence and the Associate Minister of National Defence. Since August 1964, when a single Chief of the Defence Staff was appointed, the reorganization of the Canadian Forces Headquarters, the command structure and the consolidation of the Canadian Forces Bases has been proceeding. In June 1965, a plan was announced to reduce the previous major commands in Canada to six: Maritime, Mobile, Air Transport, Air Defence, Training and Materiel. This accomplished, the stage had been reached for final steps toward a single unified force. Authority to complete these steps has been granted under the Canadian Forces Reorganization Act (SC 1967, c. 96), assented to on May 8, 1967. When necessary preparatory arrangements have been completed, this Act will be proclaimed in force and the forces thereby unified.

The Defence Research Board, created in 1947 to carry out research relating to national defence and to advise the Minister on all relevant matters of a scientific or technical nature, functions under the National Defence Act. The Crown corporation, Defence Construction (1951) Limited, reports to Parliament through the Associate Minister of National Defence.

National Energy Board.—This Board was established under the National Energy Board. Act, 1959 for the broad purpose of assuring the best use of energy resources in Canada. The Board, composed of five members, is responsible for the regulation of the construction and operation of the oil and gas pipelines that are under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada, the tolls charged for transmission by oil and gas pipelines, the export and import of gas and the export of electric power, and the construction of the lines over which such power is transmitted. The Board is also required to study and keep under review all matters relating to energy under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada and to recommend such measures as it considers necessary and advisable on the subject. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.

National Film Board.—The National Film Board, established in 1939, operates under the National Film Act (RSC 1952, c. 185) which provides for a Board of Governors of nine members– a Government Film Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, who is chairman of the Board, three members from the public service of Canada and five members from outside the public service. The Board reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State. The Board is responsible for advising the Governor in Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and, in particular, films "designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations".

Department of National Health and Welfare.—This Department was established in October 1944 under authority of the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (RSC 1952, c. 74). It was originally formed as the Department of Health in 1919 and later became part of the Department of Pensions and National Health. That Department was replaced in 1944 by the Department of National Health and Welfare and the Department of Veterans Affairs.

The Department, headed by the Minister of National Health and Welfare, is administered by two Deputy Ministers. It is composed of: Central Services which include the Research and Statistics Directorate, the Information Services Division and General Counsel; the Administration Branch; and seven other Branches—Health Services, Health Insurance and Resources, Medical Services, Food and Drug, Income Security, Welfare Assistance and Services and Special Programmes. The health Branches come under the Deputy Minister of National Health who also carries responsibility arising out of Canada's role in the international health field. The welfare Branches are the responsibility of the Deputy Minister of National Welfare.